Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Congrats to this year's physics Nobel laureates!

"Dark Energy" co-discoverers Saul Perlmutter (of the Supernova Cosmology Project) and Brian Schmidt and Adam Reiss (of the High-Z Supernova Search) win the physics Nobel.

I've met Saul due to our shared involvement with UC-Berkeley, the Space Sciences Laboratory, Lawrence Berkeley Labs, and the Nearby Supernova Factory collaboration.  I don't think I've met Brian.  I can't remember whether I've met Adam, but I've operated a telescope for his graduate student, Dan Scolnic.

I figured sooner or later the dark energy guys would get a Nobel, but I really expected it to take a couple more years.  Not bad for a bunch of guys in their 40s or early 50s.

No comments:

Post a Comment


Why I'm leaving Twitter.

I've stuck it out and continued participating on Twitter while Elon Musk has run it into the ground, made it progressively more inhospit...